Increase maintenance_work_mem

Is there a way to increase maintenance_work_mem? I run into the following error when trying to build an index and SET maintenance_work_mem TO ‘800 MB’ doesn’t seem to help.

ERROR: memory required is 793 MB, maintenance_work_mem is 64 MB (SQLSTATE 54000)

Hey @bstreit :wave:

Have you tried running the following command in the Neon SQL editor?

alter database neondb set maintenance_work_mem to '800 MB';

Hey @Mahmoud, thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately my index building still isn’t working. Now I’m getting the less-than-helpful error of “unexpected EOF” rather than the “ERROR: memory required is 793 MB, maintenance_work_mem is 64 MB (SQLSTATE 54000)” that I was getting before.

Hi @bstreit, what kind of Neon instance are you using? Can you email support@neon.tech with your project id?

Hi @Raouf_Chebri, I’m new to this platform and have no idea where to find what kind of Neon instance offhand. I’ll dig in more when I find some time as I’m very much interested in becoming comfortable as an admin in the Neon platform.

I have emailed support with my project ID, per your request.

Still no luck with this, even after reducing from 1,380 to 175 in the lists param for the ivfflat index I’m trying to build. Still getting EOF error. It is perhaps worth mentioning that I’m having this issue even being on the PRO tier. It is perhaps also worth mentioning that I didn’t encounter this error with the same DB in bit.io before we were kicked off their platform after the Databricks acquisition.

Hi @bstreit ,

Thanks for reporting this. I replied to your support ticket.

I just tested with a dataset of 120k rows with OpenAI embeddings of 1536 dimensions and other metadata. The dataset is 2GB large.

I tested it on the free tier instance:

neondb=> CREATE INDEX ON documents USING ivfflat (embedding vector_cosine_ops) WITH (lists = 700);

ERROR:  memory required is 310 MB, maintenance_work_mem is 140 MB -- this is expected