Compatibility and self hosting

Hello there!

I’m a developer at Snaplet where we provide anonymized production data and realistic seeds to our users.

I’m very interested by Neon for its cheap branching model, but I have questions. :smiley:

• How is the compatibility to Postgresql right now? Is it 100% compliant with any schema/type/extensions? A lot of our users are using extensions so we have to make sure that if we start experimenting with Neon, they will be able to transparently create their test / temporaries databases.

• Is Neon process run as a whole database server? So can we create multiple databases, and then create multiple branches on each of these databases? The idea here is that our users take transformed snapshots of their production data, and I’d like to create one database per snapshot, then only use short lived branches when they want to code against their snapshots.

• Reading the doc, it’s not clear to me how to setup the storage part of Neon. I understand that we can store the data directly on S3, but is it also possible to have a mounted volume and store the data there (locally)?

Thanks for this awesome project, I think it will truly disrupt the Postgres ecosystem for the best!

1 Like

Hi!

How is the compatibility to Postgresql right now?

Our cloud service doesn’t give you root database access, so one can’t install external extensions. In a self-hosted setup, it is possible to install any extensions. Most extensions should work fine unless they interact with files/WAL directly. The only such extension that I know is the old version of cstore_fdw – but it was rewritten using table access methods and integrated into Citus extension, so it should work now.

Is Neon process run as a whole database server?